Graduate Students

A

B

Erin Bennett

Email: ebbennett@berkeley.edu
Academic Area: Anglophone, Francophone, Italian Novels, Trauma Theory, Feminist Theory, Feminist Pedagogy
Languages: French, Italian, Hindi, Tamil
Periods: 20th- and 21st-century

C

Keru Cai

Languages: Chinese, Russian, French, Classical Chinese

Aurelia Cojocaru

Academic Area: Poetry, Critical Theory, Literature and Philosophy, History of Ideas, Creative Writing, Immigrant Literature
Languages: Romanian, Russian, English, French, German
Periods: 20th and 21st centuries

F

G

H

Donna Honarpisheh

Academic Area: Postcolonial Studies, Critical Theory, Critical Race Studies, Critical Memory Studies, Cultural Studies, Oceanic Studies
Languages: Persian, Francophone, Anglophone
Periods: 20th and 21st Century

J

Taylor Johnston

Ph.D. candidate and Graduate Student Instructor
Email: taylorjohnston7@berkeley .edu
Academic Area: American literature; Italian film & thought
Languages: Italian, French, Spanish
Periods: 19th, 20th, & 21st centuries

K

Max Kaisler

Email: max_kaisler@berkeley.edu

Maya Kronfeld

Email: mayak@berkeley.edu
Languages: English, French, Hebrew

L

Emily Laskin

Email: laskin@berkeley.edu
Languages: Russian, English, Persian, French, German
Periods: 19th and 20th centuries

M

Cory Merrill

PhD Candidate
Academic Area: Literature and Philosophy
Languages: German, Russian, French, Dutch, English

Mary Mussman

Email: mary.mussman@berkeley.edu
Academic Area: feminist and queer theory, affect theory, Victorian literature, Modernism, Classics reception, psychoanalysis
Languages: English, French, Ancient Greek, Latin
Periods: 19th–21st century British and French; archaic and classical Greek

P

R

Laila Riazi

Email: laila_riazi@berkeley.edu
Academic Area: Postcolonial Studies, Ecocriticism, Queer & Feminist Theory, Psychoanalysis, Critical Theory
Languages: English, French, Arabic, Persian
Periods: 20th- and 21st-century

S

Simona Schneider

Email: simona.schneider@berkeley.edu
Academic Area: Poetics, Film Theory & Production, Lyric Theory, Critical Theory
Languages: English, Russian, French, Arabic with reading ability in German, Italian, Spanish
Periods: Modern & Contemporary

Christopher Scott

Academic Area: poetry and cinema; gender and sexuality; psychoanalysis and critical theory; time and temporality
Languages: English, Modern Greek, Italian, French
Periods: modern and contemporary

Thomas Sliwowski

Email: thom.sliwowski@berkeley.edu
Languages: German, Polish, French, some Russian
Periods: 19th and 20th century

T

V

W