Graduate Students

A

B

Wendi Bootes

Email: wbootes@berkeley.edu
Academic Area: modernism, the novel, colonial/postcolonial studies, critical theory, literature and philosophy
Languages: English, Russian, German
Periods: 19th and 20th centuries

C

Cole Carvour

Email: cole_carvour@berkeley.edu
Academic Area: Feminism, Affect, Postcolonial Theory
Languages: French, Spanish, Portuguese
Periods: 20th and 21st Century francophone African and Central American literatures

Albert Castro

Email: acastro34@berkeley.edu
Languages: French, Spanish, Ancient Greek, English

Matteo Cavelier Riccardi

PhD Candidate
Academic Area: Psychoanalysis, Film and Media (DE), Socialist China, Postwar Italy
Languages: Chinese, Italian, French, Spanish, Portuguese
Periods: 20th Century

d

Paul de Morais

Email: pdemorais@berkeley.edu
Languages: French, German, Spanish, Portuguese
Periods: 18th & 19th centuries

D

Anna Dini

Languages: Italian, English, Arabic (Modern Standard Arabic), French

F

Hannah Frakes

Email: hannah_frakes@berkeley.edu
Academic Area: religious mysticism, psychoanalysis, feminisms, visual art, continental philosophy
Languages: English, German, French, Biblical Greek

Ryan Frankel

Email: ryanfrankel@berkeley.edu
Academic Area: Literature and Philosophy
Languages: English; French; Japanese
Periods: 20th Century

G

Marlena Gittleman

Email: mgittleman@berkeley.edu
Academic Area: Hemispheric American, Latin American, Global South, Feminisms & Queer Theory, Performance Studies, Translation
Languages: Spanish, English, Catalan, Portuguese, French
Periods: Late-19th Century, 20th Century, 21st Century

Christián González Reyes

Email: gonzalezchris178@berkeley.edu
Academic Area: Marxism; Critical Race Theory; Decolonial & Liberatory Theory & Praxis; Memory & Trauma Studies; Indigenous Cosmolectics; Critical Migration & Refugee Studies; Critical Ethnic Studies
Languages: Spanish, Portuguese, & English
Periods: 20th & 21st Century Central American and Chicanx/ U.S. Latinx Literature

H

Layla Hazemi

Email: lhazemi@berkeley.edu
Academic Area: Performance Studies; Queer Theory; Cultural and Postcolonial Studies; Race and Performance; the musical
Languages: English, Japanese, Persian (Farsi)
Periods: 20th Century

J

K

Max Kaisler

Email: max_kaisler@berkeley.edu
Languages: English, German, Latin, Ancient Greek

Landon Kramer

Email: landon_kramer@berkeley.edu
Academic Area: Symbolism, decadence, aestheticism, modernism
Languages: English, French, Russian, Spanish, Italian, Latin, Ancient Greek

Madeleine Kresin

Languages: Russian, English, Norwegian

L

Dinah Lensing-Sharp

Graduate Student Instructor
Email: dinah_lensing-sharp@berkeley.edu
Academic Area: German Literature, French Literature, Gender & Sexuality Studies, Translation
Languages: German, French, Spanish
Periods: Late 19th and early 20th centuries

Alexander Lin

Email: ajlin@berkeley.edu
Academic Area: Romantic/Post-Romantic literatures; poetics; Marxist theory; negative theology; psychoanalysis
Languages: German, Japanese, English, Chinese, French, Latin
Periods: 18-20th century

M

Harry Mizumoto

Email: hmizmoto@berkeley.edu
Languages: Japanese, German, English, Russian
Periods: Post-WWII, modernism

Mary Mussman

Email: mary.mussman@berkeley.edu
Academic Area: Victorian and Modernist literatures; sexuality and transgender studies; Classical reception
Languages: English, French, Ancient Greek, Latin
Periods: 19th–20th century British and French; archaic and classical Greek

P

Rachel Park

Email: rachel.park33@berkeley.edu
Languages: Korean, French, Vietnamese
Periods: 20th and 21st Century

Tara Phillips

PhD Candidate
Academic Area: Food studies, U.S., Latin American literatures
Languages: Spanish, with reading ability in Portuguese and French
Periods: Late nineteenth and early twentieth century

R

Kyle Ralston

Academic Area: History of historiography, critical theory, intellectual history, philosophy of history, Roman history, classical reception, history & literature
Languages: Latin, Ancient Greek, German
Periods: Greek & Roman Antiquity, 19th Century Germany

Laila Riazi

Email: laila_riazi@berkeley.edu
Academic Area: Critical Theory; Postcolonial Studies; Psychoanalysis; Photography and Visual Studies
Languages: English, French, Arabic, Persian
Periods: 20th & 21st centuries

Gladys Rivas

Email: gladysrivas@berkeley.edu
Languages: Spanish, Russian, French (reading knowledge)
Periods: 20th/21st Century

S

Thomas Sliwowski

PhD Candidate
Email: thom.sliwowski@berkeley.edu
Languages: German, Polish, French, some Russian
Periods: 19th and 20th century

Haley Stewart

Email: haley_stewart@berkeley.edu
Academic Area: Latin American literatures
Languages: Spanish, French, English, German
Periods: 19th & 20th centuries

Kevin Stone

Candidate
Academic Area: Aesthetics, Critical Theory, Queer Theory
Languages: Major: English, German; Minor: French, Yiddish, Russian
Periods: 20th century

Evan Strouss

PhD Candidate
Email: evan_strouss@berkeley.edu
Academic Area: Renaissance & Early Modern Studies; Sound Studies; 18th Century Studies; Lyric Poetry; Theater
Languages: German, Italian, French, Latin

Ata Sunucu

Email: asunucu@berkeley.edu
Academic Area: Poetry, rhythm & meter, diurnal/seasonal periodicity, sensory experience, visual arts, translation
Languages: Turkish, Ottoman Turkish, English, German, French

T

V

W

Gianna Ward-Vetrano

Email: gianna_ward_vetrano@berkeley.edu
Languages: Italian, French

Tessa Wood

Email: tessawood@berkeley.edu
Academic Area: Latin American literatures; hemispheric American studies; cultural interaction with structural inequalities; the novel; gender and sexuality
Languages: Spanish, Portuguese, English, Catalan

Z

Madeline Zimring

Email: mzimring@berkeley.edu
Languages: French, German, Italian, English

Yana Zlochistaya

Email: yana.zlochi@berkeley.edu
Academic Area: Translation theory and practice, narrative theory, children's literature, urban humanities
Languages: Russian, English, French, currently learning Spanish