Graduate Students

B

Wendi Bootes

Email: wbootes@berkeley.edu
Academic Area: modernism, the novel, philosophy of language, critical theory, literature and philosophy
Languages: English, Russian, German
Periods: 19th and 20th centuries

Alex Brostoff

Email: alexandra.brostoff@berkeley.edu
Academic Area: Literature of the Americas; gender & sexuality studies; autotheory & performative philosophy; performance studies; critical theory & critical pedagogy; cultural criticism
Languages: English, Spanish, Portuguese, French, Italian
Periods: 20th & 21st century

C

Cole Carvour

Email: cole_carvour@berkeley.edu
Academic Area: Feminism, Affect, Postcolonial Theory
Languages: French, Spanish, Portuguese
Periods: 20th and 21st Century francophone African and Central American literatures

Matteo Cavelier Riccardi

Academic Area: Psychoanalysis, Socialist Utopianism, Marxist theory, Maoism, Feminism, Film and Media (DE)
Languages: Chinese, Italian, French, Spanish, Portuguese
Periods: 20th Century

Aurelia Cojocaru

Academic Area: Poetry, Critical Theory, Literature and Philosophy, History of Ideas, Creative Writing, Immigrant Literature
Languages: Romanian, Russian, English, French, German
Periods: 20th and 21st centuries

Kathryn Crim

PhD Candidate / Graduate Student Instructor
Email: kcrim@berkeley.edu
Academic Area: Devotion/Iconoclasm; History of Science; Contemporary Poetry; Critical Theory
Languages: English, French, Latin, German
Periods: Renaissance and Early Modern; Contemporary

D

Paul De Morais

Email: pdemorais@berkeley.edu
Languages: French, German, Spanish, Portuguese
Periods: 18th & 19th centuries

F

Howard Fisher

Email: howard.fisher@berkeley.edu

Ryan Frankel

Email: ryanfrankel@berkeley.edu
Academic Area: Literature and Philosophy
Languages: English; French; Japanese
Periods: 20th Century

G

Marlena Gittleman

Email: mgittleman@berkeley.edu
Academic Area: Hemispheric American Studies, Transatlantic Studies, Feminisms, Dance and Performance, Translation
Languages: Spanish, English, Catalan, Portuguese, French
Periods: Late-19th Century, 20th Century, 21st Century

Matthew Gonzales

Email: matthew.gonzales@berkeley.edu
Academic Area: Chicanx/Latinx literature and culture, modern Latin American, African-American, and European-American poetry and performance art, Frankfurt-School Critical Theory
Languages: Spanish, English, Portuguese, French

Christián González Reyes

Email: gonzalezchris178@berkeley.edu
Languages: Spanish, Portuguese, & English
Periods: 20th & 21st Century Central American and Chicanx/ U.S. Latinx Literature

H

Layla Hazemi

Email: lhazemi@berkeley.edu
Academic Area: Performance Studies; Queer Theory; Cultural and Postcolonial Studies; Race and Performance; the musical
Languages: English, Japanese, Persian (Farsi)
Periods: 20th Century

Sherilyn Hellberg

Email: hellberg@berkeley.edu
Languages: Danish, French, German, English
Periods: 19th c. - present

Donna Honarpisheh

Academic Area: Aesthetics, Postcolonial Studies, Critical Theory, Transregional Modernisms, Cultural Studies, Visual Culture
Languages: Persian, Francophone, Anglophone
Periods: 20th and 21st Century

J

K

Max Kaisler

Email: max_kaisler@berkeley.edu
Languages: English, German, Latin, Ancient Greek

Landon Kramer

Email: landon_kramer@berkeley.edu
Languages: French, Russian, Latin

Madeleine Kresin

Languages: Russian, English, French

L

Emily Laskin

Email: laskin@berkeley.edu
Languages: Russian, English, Persian, French, German, Arabic
Periods: 19th and 20th centuries

Dinah Lensing-Sharp

Graduate Student Instructor

Alexander Lin

Email: ajlin@berkeley.edu
Academic Area: Romantic/Post-Romantic literatures; poetics; Marxist theory; negative theology; psychoanalysis
Languages: German, Japanese, English, Chinese, French, Latin
Periods: 18-20th century

M

Cory Merrill

PhD Candidate
Academic Area: Literature and Philosophy; Charitable Rereadings
Languages: German, Russian, French, Dutch, English

Liza Michaeli

Email: liza.michaeli@berkeley.edu

Mary Mussman

Email: mary.mussman@berkeley.edu
Academic Area: Victorian and Modernist literature; Queer Theory; Affect Theory; Psychoanalysis; Classical Reception
Languages: English, French, Ancient Greek, Latin
Periods: 19th–21st century British and French; archaic and classical Greek

P

Tara Phillips

PhD Candidate
Academic Area: Food studies, Modernism, U.S., Latin American literatures
Languages: Spanish, with reading ability in Portuguese and French
Periods: 20th century

R

Laila Riazi

Email: laila_riazi@berkeley.edu
Academic Area: Postcolonial theory; Marxist and Psychoanalytic Feminism; Ecocriticism
Languages: Anglophone, Francophone, Arabic, Persian
Periods: 20th & 21st centuries

S

Christopher Scott

Academic Area: poetry and cinema; gender and sexuality; psychoanalysis and critical theory; time and temporality
Languages: English, Modern Greek, Italian, French
Periods: modern and contemporary

Thomas Sliwowski

Email: thom.sliwowski@berkeley.edu
Languages: German, Polish, French, some Russian
Periods: 19th and 20th century

Anna Spadafora

Languages: Italian, English, French (reading knowledge), currently studying Arabic (Modern Standard Arabic)
Periods: 20th century

Kevin Stone

Candidate
Academic Area: Aesthetics, Critical Theory, Queer Theory
Languages: Major: English, German; Minor: French, Yiddish, Russian
Periods: 20th century

T

V

W

Z

Madeline Zimring

Email: mzimring@berkeley.edu
Languages: French, German, English