2015 Comparative Literature graduate alumna Kristin Ann Dickinson (and Assistant Professor of German at University of Michigan) has won the 2017 Charles Bernheimer award from the American Comparative Literature Association for her dissertation entitled “Translation and the Experience of Modernity: A History of German Turkish Connectivity.”  

Selection Committee member Andrew Parker stated “Your work stood out to our committee in a year in which we received many more submissions than usual.  Congratulations!”

In fact, UC Berkeley Comparative Literature graduate alumni have now won the award (or received honorable mention) for 6 years in a row and 9 times since 2005:

2016:  Ramsey McGlazer:  “Old Schools: Modernism, Pedagogy, and the Critique of Progress”

2015:  Tristram Wolff: “Romantic Etymology and Language Ecology”

2014:  Shaul Setter:  “After the Fact: Potential Collectivities in Israel/Palestine”

2013:  David Simon (Honorable Mention): “Careless Engagements: Literature, Science, and the Ethics of Indifference in Early Modernity”

2012:  Lily Gurton-Wachter:  “Keeping Watch: Wartime Attention and the Poetics of Alarm around 1800”

2010:  Elizabeth Young:  “The Mediated Muse: Catullan Lyricism and Roman Translation”

2006:  Irene Perciali (Honorable Mention):  “Personifying Capitalism: Economic Imagination, the Novel, and the Entrepreneur”

2005:  Shaden Tageldin:  “Disarming Words: Reading (Post)Colonial Egypt’s Double Bond to Europe”